Robert  P. Schechter
Chief Executive Officer (Retired), NMS Communications Corporation

PTC director since 2009. Chief Executive Officer (Retired), NMS Communications Corporation, a provider of hardware and software solutions for the communications industry. Mr. Schechter served as Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of NMS from 1995 to 2008.

Chairman of the Board
James E. Heppelmann

James (Jim) Heppelmann is the president and chief executive officer (CEO) of PTC and is responsible for driving PTC's global business strategy and operations. Previous to his appointment as CEO, Mr. Heppelmann served as PTC's president and chief operating officer, responsible for managing the operating business units of the company including R&D, Marketing, Sales, Services, and Maintenance. He also serves on PTC's Board of Directors.

Mr. Heppelmann previously served as executive vice president, software products, and chief product officer at PTC with responsibility for overall product direction, including coordination of PTC product vision and strategy, product design and development, and product marketing and management.

Mr. Heppelmann has worked in the information technology industry since 1985 and has extensive experience developing and deploying large-scale product development systems within the manufacturing marketplace. Prior to joining PTC, Mr. Heppelmann was co-founder and chief technical officer of Windchill Technology, a Minnesota-based company acquired by PTC in 1998. Before co-founding Windchill Technology, Mr. Heppelmann served as chief technical officer at Metaphase Technology. Mr. Heppelmann had worked at Control Data Corporation (now known as Syntegra) for seven years until the company formed Metaphase in 1992.

Mr. Heppelmann travels extensively to customer sites around the globe and speaks regularly at product development and manufacturing industry forums on topics such as PLM, global product development, and gaining competitive advantage through product development process improvement. He has also been published and quoted in numerous business and trade media, including The Boston Globe, The Wall Street Journal, and Bloomberg Television.

Mr. Heppelmann serves as a member of the national FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology) executive advisory board, and is a member of the Dean's advisory board at the University of Minnesota College of Science & Engineering.

Mr. Heppelmann attended University of Minnesota, where he earned a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering with an emphasis on computer-aided design.

download press package (zip)

    Janice Chaffin
    Group President (Retired), Consumer Business Unit, Symantec Corporation

    Group President (Retired), Consumer Business Unit, Symantec Corporation

    PTC director since 2013, Ms. Chaffin most recently served as Group President, Consumer Business Unit of Symantec Corporation from April 2007 to March 2013.  Prior to that, she served as Chief Marketing Officer of Symantec.  Prior to joining Symantec, Ms. Chaffin spent 21 years at Hewlett-Packard Company where she held a variety of marketing and business management positions.


    Independent Director
    Phillip Fernandez

    PTC director since 2016.  President, Chief Executive Officer and Chairman of the Board of Marketo, Inc., a digital marketing software company, since January 2006.  Before that, Mr. Fernandez was with Epiphany, Inc., a marketing software company acquired by SSA Global Technologies, Inc., from 1999 to 2005, including as President and Chief Operating Officer from July 2003 until September 2005. 

    Independent Director
    Klaus Hoehn
    Vice President, Advanced Technology and Engineering, Deere & Company

    PTC director since 2015.  Vice President, Advanced Technology and Engineering, Deere & Company, an agricultural, construction, commercial and consumer equipment manufacturer, since January 2006.  Dr. Hoehn joined Deere & Company in 1992 and served in a number of engineering and product development roles at the company before assuming his current position.  

    Independent Director
    Paul A. Lacy
    President (Retired), Kronos Incorporated

    PTC director since 2009. President (Retired), Kronos Incorporated, a global enterprise software company. Mr. Lacy served as President and Secretary of Kronos from May 2006 through June 2008. Prior to that, Mr. Lacy served as President, Chief Financial and Administrative Officer, Treasurer and Secretary of Kronos from November 2005 through April 2006, and as Executive Vice President and Chief Financial and Administrative Officer of Kronos from April 2002 through October 2005.

    Independent Director
    Corinna Lathan
    Chief Executive Officer, Co-Founder and Chair of the Board, AnthroTronix, Inc.,

    Dr. Corinna Lathan is the Chief Executive Officer, Co-Founder and Chair of the Board of AnthroTronix, Inc., a biomedical engineering research and development company. Prior to that, Dr. Lathan was an Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering at The Catholic University of America and an Adjunct Associate Professor of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Maryland, College Park. Dr. Lathan received her B.A. in Biopsychology and Mathematics from Swarthmore College, and an S.M. in Aeronautics and Astronautics and Ph.D. in Neuroscience from MIT.

    Independent Director
    Blake Moret
    President and Chief Executive Officer, Rockwell Automation
    Blake Moret leads Rockwell Automation, a company focused on industrial automation and information. He has 31 years of broad experience with Rockwell Automation including leadership roles in marketing, solutions, services, and product groups. Blake is a graduate of Georgia Institute of Technology, where he earned a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering.
    Independent Director